Are potatoes gluten-free?
Watch this video to understand why I say mostly.
The potato is gluten-free. So is the sweet potato.
The baked potato is gluten-free. So are mashed potatoes.
But you can’t always trust French fries to be gluten-free because they may be dusted with flour or given a flour-based coating to make them crispy.
The fries are likely cooked in a fryer where other flour coated foods are fried too. So they get gluten that way too.
Most tater tots are not gluten free.
Hash browns may or may not be gluten free. Make your own or ask the cook to verify if they are gluten-free.
Scalloped potatoes may not be gluten-free either.
You have to watch out for the other ingredients that are mixed in with dishes like scalloped potatoes. But it is absolutely possible to make almost any potato based dish gluten-free.
Oreida makes several French fries that are gluten free including crinkle fries and steak fries. Look on the bag to verify they are gluten free. These are available in the freezer aisle of most grocers.
You can usually find gluten free tater tots from regional and local gluten free food makers. Check Whole Foods or your local natural food market for options.
So yes, potatoes are gluten-free. But watch out for French fries, tater tots, and potato based dishes where other ingredients may be added that are not gluten-free.
By they way, if you’d like to find out the gluten-free status of many other foods, join my brand new free class by clicking here.
I’m James Shirley with Happy Gluten Free. Thanks for joining me.