Is Chocolate Gluten Free?

Endangered Species chocolate bars are all gluten free (and our favorite).

Going gluten free can seem cruel when you start to learn about all the places gluten hides. Could it really be in your chocolate?

Cruel indeed.

Chocolate is just sugar and cocoa, right? Actually, some chocolates have barley malt as an ingredient – which means not safe because it has gluten in it.

I’m not a chocolate expert but it seems that milk chocolates tend to be more likely to have the barley malt compared with dark chocolates. Nevertheless, you have to check ingredients.

Like with any food, you have to watch out for foods processed on equipment that also processes products with wheat or other gluten grains. Secondarily – and depending on your level of sensitivity – foods processed in the same facility as products with wheat can also be a threat.

Finally, some chocolates contain cereals as ‘crisps’ and those are generally not gluten free. As it says on chocolate maker Lindt & Sprungli’s website,

“Gluten can be found in several premium chocolate products that Lindt &Sprüngli produces; either as a cereal ingredient or as a barley component”


Thankfully, there is hope. I mean, giving up gluten is one thing, but chocolate? No way.

These brands and products are safe for people eating gluten free:

Enjoy Life Foods

  • Dark Chocolate
  • Ricemilk Crunch
  • Ricemilk Chocolate

Enjoy Life makes these bars gluten, dairy, nut and soy free. They are awesome.


  • Silky Milk Chocolate
  • Silky Dark Chocolate

Dove says

“We have an extensive allergen management program which includes staff training, evaluating our ingredients and validating our cleaning procedures.”


  • Hershey’s KISSES Milk Chocolates and All Filled Chocolates
  • Hershey’s NUGGETS Candlies
  • Milk Chocolate Bar (1.55oz)
  • Milk Chocolate with Almonds Bar (1.45oz)

Hershey’s says

” the current products listed below have been fully evaluated and qualify as gluten-free using standards proposed by the US Food and Drug Administration (FDA).”

Note on the chocolate bars in the list above, that they specify a size that is gluten-free. They say that several other products contain no gluten ingredients, but not all of their products have been tested and so they are not listed.

Endangered Species

  • All of their chocolate bars

The 3.0 oz Natural Dark Chocolate (72% cocoa) is what I usually buy my wife when she needs chocolate. Endangered Species says

“Endangered Species Chocolate products are CERTIFIED GLUTEN-FREE™ by the Gluten-Free Certification Organization. This certification allows us to feel 100% confident in recommending products to customers with Celiac Disease. Look for the “Certified Gluten-Free” symbol on each label. Seasonal and specialty items may not carry this certification…”

If you are buying a seasonal chocolate, then check the label to be sure.


And what about all the foods that have chocolate as an ingredient? Truly, we use chocolate in everything from cake to frosting, to hot cocoa. Just because Hershey’s chocolate bars are gluten free, you can’t assume that their chocolate syrup or chocolate milk are gluten free too. It doesn’t work that way (unfortunately).

The best thing is to check the ingredients and check with the manufacturer to find out for sure what is and what is not gluten free.



  • 60% Cacao Bittersweet Chocolate Chip
  • Barista Dark Chocolate Chip
  • Semi-Sweet Chocolate Chip
  • Unsweetened Cocoa


  • Milk Chocolate Chips
  • MINI CHIPS Semi-Sweet
  • Semi-Sweet Chocolate Chips
  • SUGAR-FREE Chocolate Chips
  • Premier White Chips
  • Semi-Sweet Baking Bar
  • Baking Cocoa
  • SPECIAL DARK Baking Cocoa

Betty Crocker

  • All Chocolate Frostings

Duncan Hines

  • All Chocolate Frostings


Swis Miss

  • Milk Chocolate Hot Cocoa Mix


  • All Chocolate syrup flavors


  • Chocolate Syrup
  • Chocolate Syrup with Calcium
  • Chocolate Sugar Free Syrup

This is just a beginner list of all the chocolate related gluten free products out there. It is a starter list. So you can go forth and indulge. Rest assured knowing that even though you’re gluten free, you don’t have to give up chocolate.


Happy Gluten Free