Open Faced Gluten Free Guacamole Toast | Song of Style

… fat that our body needs plus it’s insanely tasty! I’m all about to easy recipes that are healthy and filling that I can make on the go, so I wanted to share one of my favorite bites, the Open Faced Gluten Free Guacamole Toast!

Source: www.songofstyle.com

We are VERY in to avocado and homemade guac at our house this summer…and imagine our delight at finding another idea for using them!

See on Scoop.itGluten-Free

Cookistry: Gluten-Free Labeling – yea or nay?

In order to keep certain foods gluten free, some companies had to build (or maybe remodel) facilities in order to keep the gluten free processing separate from any gluten-containing products. Depending on what they’re …

Source: www.cookistry.com

One of the best articles I’ve read. Written by someone who is not gluten-free it tackles many of the recent bad press that being gluten-free has gotten…

See on Scoop.itGluten-Free

Gluten Free is Not Enough

Doctors are finally realizing that about 60% of the population has some degree of Celiac disease or gluten-intolerance. Also, diabetes is becoming more and more prevalent, especially among children.

Source: www.alwaysnewyou.com

Gluten-free or not – it makes sense to spend a lot of time focusing on what you eat to fuel your body. And if you aren’t well, why not start trying to get well by changing what you eat?

I like this quote from the article:

Can you imagine what a mostly gluten-free and low glycemic diet can do for those of us who are not at risk, but just unwell?”

See on Scoop.itGluten-Free

Is Spelt Gluten-Free?

Is Spelt Gluten-Free?

Spelt is NOT gluten-free.

Spelt is a species of wheat and it does contain gluten.

Products made with spelt are typically found in natural health food stores. It is used in making breads, pasta, pretzels, and beer.

If you are eating gluten-free watch out for any product that lists spelt as an ingredient.

Discover a whole bunch of foods that are gluten-free by checking out my brand new free report ‘What foods Are Gluten-Free’. Just click here.

I’m Jim Shirley with Happy Gluten Free. Thanks for joining me.

Are Potatoes Gluten-Free?

Are potatoes gluten-free?

Mostly.

Watch this video to understand why I say mostly.

The potato is gluten-free. So is the sweet potato.
The baked potato is gluten-free. So are mashed potatoes.

But you can’t always trust French fries to be gluten-free because they may be dusted with flour or given a flour-based coating to make them crispy.

The fries are likely cooked in a fryer where other flour coated foods are fried too. So they get gluten that way too.

Most tater tots are not gluten free.
Hash browns may or may not be gluten free. Make your own or ask the cook to verify if they are gluten-free.
Scalloped potatoes may not be gluten-free either.

You have to watch out for the other ingredients that are mixed in with dishes like scalloped potatoes. But it is absolutely possible to make almost any potato based dish gluten-free.

Oreida makes several French fries that are gluten free including crinkle fries and steak fries. Look on the bag to verify they are gluten free. These are available in the freezer aisle of most grocers.

You can usually find gluten free tater tots from regional and local gluten free food makers. Check Whole Foods or your local natural food market for options.

So yes, potatoes are gluten-free. But watch out for French fries, tater tots, and potato based dishes where other ingredients may be added that are not gluten-free.

By they way, if you’d like to find out the gluten-free status of many other foods, join my brand new free class by clicking here.

I’m James Shirley with Happy Gluten Free. Thanks for joining me.