Categories
May Contain Gluten

4 Foods That Contain Gluten (The First One May Surprise You!)

Having to suddenly transform your child’s diet to be gluten-free is kind of like having to learn how to ride a bike without the help of training wheels…These tips will help you get rolling and avoid a few pitfalls along the way. Gluten is a sneaky one…and by that I mean that gluten can be […]

Categories
Gluten-Free Foods May Contain Gluten

Are Cheerios Gluten Free?

General Mills hit some headwinds when people started getting sick from GF Cheerios…

Categories
May Contain Gluten

Is Spelt Gluten-Free?

Is Spelt Gluten-Free? Spelt is NOT gluten-free. Spelt is a species of wheat and it does contain gluten. Products made with spelt are typically found in natural health food stores. It is used in making breads, pasta, pretzels, and beer. If you are eating gluten-free watch out for any product that lists spelt as an […]

Categories
May Contain Gluten Resources

Interesting Information About the Status of "Malt" in Gluten Free Products

If you have questions about how a product can be labeled “gluten free” and yet contains malt or barley malt, this week’s posting by nutricianist Tricia Thompson is helpful.  Understanding and appreciating the differences in how much gluten is allowed in different products as well as what your own tolerance level(s) are to these levels […]